top of page
Search

I'm Back

Well, Slate Inc. is back. Over the last few years Slate Inc has been dormant. But as the founder I've been working on my career as an academic. Since I last blogged, I was able to fulfill a dream of mine and landed a full-time position teaching film, tv, and media at San Bernardino Valley College.


But an itch has still remained on blogging, producing local funded film and media content, and research as it relates to education and how learning film and media can greatly impact the 21st century economy. I hope to get back to this blog on a weekly basis in between lesson prep, grading, and student productions.


My first new series of blogs will focus on how film and media education provides students with what NACE (National Association of Colleges and Employers) has identified as 8 core competencies that employers require in the 21st century economy. Not to leave you my readers on the edge of your seat but these include, Career and Self Development, Communication, Critical Thinking, Equity and Inclusion, Leadership, Professionalism, Teamwork, and Technology. I think you can see here that learning how to create film, tv, and media hits all of these competencies.


As we head into a world of guided pathways at the community college level it is important that students know that focusing on their passions and strengths when choosing a major needs to be their guiding principal, not just getting a "Job." We don't go to college to get a job, we go to college to find a purpose.


Peace out, Lucas Cuny.

29 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page